Journal and Pics from Rebecca Friederich

View from our Cottage in Kampala...not bad!

Soccer with the Street Boys from A Perfect Injustice

Yo! It’s Rebecca.

Personally, I’m starting to not mind being dirty. It’s actually kind of fun. Which is probably a good thing because in Kampala we have been getting super dirty. Especially yesterday. But since I’m talking about today I’ll just stick on that topic. We got picked up around 9:45ish by the API team and the boys. We went straight to their new land in Bombo and split into two groups to work. One group worked on the foundation for the kitchen building, and the other group went more into the bushy land to clear the weeds from the Casava garden/orchard area. I should tell you, these are not puny American weeds. This was serious weeding, like weeds and things that were as tall as we are and thick. (If you couldn’t tell, I was on this team.) Feel free to ask your students to weed when we get home and just tell them that it’s super easy compared to Uganda, but don’t tell them I told you too. =) We used the hoes (which I am a fan of) and slashers and it looked so much better when we were done and was super helpful to API.  Afterwards we headed back to the main area and helped finish the foundation by placing rocks down over the cement slab.

After a quick snack, we headed back into Kampala to the Kivulu Home where the boys live. It was super nice and fun to chill with them in their own setting. We had a delicious lunch (but more about how amazing the food is later) and then put on a program for them. Greg opened with two songs, and then we (Dave, Clara, Joe, Ryan, Hannah, and myself) put on a modern day version of the Good Samaritan. It was super fun. Then Mrs. Gibbons told the story of the lost sheep. Afterwards I heard that it was really powerful for the kids, which is wonderful. Then we closed with a few songs, one led by Sadic who is 14 and plays the guitar really well.  It was a really great experience to worship with them and have some fun, too Whenever we worship with the people here, it’s just and amazing experience.

Despues del program, we went to play football/soccer at a local field. It was Americans vs Ugandans, and Americans won 3-2. It was a super sweet game, though. Americans were bigger but the Ugandans we probably better, so it was all good. =) I didn’t play, but I watched and took pictures. The field was on a hill so we had a beautiful view of the city and I was able to confirm that African sunsets are basically amazing beyond words. After the game we went back to the house and left to come back to the guest housing.

On the more personal side, coming to Uganda is simply the most awesome thing I have ever been able to do. God has opened so many doors to get me/us here, and being able to interact with the kids who have such a genuine and inspiring faith has been an amazing experience. Also, with all the things that could have gone wrong, I’m so thankful to have had really good safety and health so far! If you could see the traffic, you’d know what I’d mean. And besides not having any protein for a few days and feeling crummy and realizing that protein really is good for you, I’ve been fabulously healthy and no jet lag. Woo hoo! Speaking of food, this stuff is amazing. I think rice and potatoes and goat stew is my new thing. I just miss milk. Anyway. I guess all I have left to say is that there is so much I can’t say in one little blog post, and I hope what I did say made a little bit of sense. Sooo, yeah. =)

Love you all! Thanks for your prayers.

Rebecca

6 thoughts on “Journal and Pics from Rebecca Friederich

  1. Rebecca should know I was smiling through her entire post. Thanks, Sweetie, for writing. Praise God for how he is orchestrating the trip and for the health and safety of the team. We’ll keep praying.

    We have loved reading each and every team member’s post. Hannah, I cried, too, when I read yours.

  2. Rebecca,
    I am reading and hanging on every word you write. Wish I could be with you. I am Joan’s Mom so tell her hi for me–would love to have heard her story. We are praying for you every day. Barb Bourgeois

  3. Fantastic blog Rebecca, well written, informative funny but more than anything it just pulses with a sense of our Lord’s blessing on each of you and a joy knowing you have been touched and used by the Living God. We all pray that the impact made will flow into eternity in both your lives and those of the Ugandanese. What a great love the Father has for us that we can impart and receive from others. May the rest of your trip is equally powerful. Please thank all who have written and sent photos to keep us abreast each one is just marvelous.
    Would you please tell my dear wife I love her and that I have a nice weed job ready when she returns.

    Regards and prayer for all

    Mark Dodgson

  4. “Journal and Pics from Rebecca *Friedrich*”? Even in Uganda they can’t spell your name!

    Great post! Finish strong! Love, Dad (sorry for the crazy last name)

  5. SOCCER – the sport that transcends all language barriers! 🙂 Love you Ryan! And the rest of the team too.

    Greg Bowman

Leave a comment