From Andy

A river of garbage flows through the dirt road underneath our feet…  Street vendors on both sides sell marijuana and other drugs to anyone who can pay…. A naked child no more than four years old walks in front of us dragging a jug full of brown water behind him… A man holding advertisements for prostitutes shoves one in my face and says, “Which one do you like?” … The smell from burning piles of trash on the side of the road makes me cough and gag…. This is but a picture of what me and the other guys on the Uganda team experienced today when we walked through Kisenyi: the largest and worst slum in Kampala.

Immediately following our walk through the slum I remember a certain feeling of disgust. Surprisingly I was not disgusted at all the things I had just seen and smelled.  I was disgusted at the fact that in two days I will be back home in America living in my two-story, air conditioned house, with plenty of food and clean water to drink, while these kids have no idea when there next meal will be or where they will sleep each night.  I was literally sickened at how rich and spoiled I am; seeing what I saw today makes me want to help. It makes me want to stay in Uganda and keep going back to the slum until all the kids are saved from the drugs and terrible poverty that they experience everyday.  But I cant (don’t worry mom and dad). We leave for home tomorrow and all I can do at this very moment is pray.  I invite everyone who reads this to pray with me, pray for the seven major slums and the 10,000 street children that live in Kampala alone, pray for the wonderful ministry that API runs that reach’s out to hundreds of these street kids each day.  Lastly pray for everyone on the Uganda team, pray that God would break our hearts for these kids and that we would want to go back and help them in whatever way we can.

Sincerely Yours,

Andy Voss

3 thoughts on “From Andy

  1. For the second day I am sitting at my computer crying after I read your blogs. Believe it or not Andy I wish you could stay and help! I am so thankful for this experience for all of you and for me to shock us into the reality of how spoiled we are. I just keep wondering since I read yesterdays blog, how can I help? How can we help? I am and will be praying. Can’t wait to see all of you. Jonny, thank you.

  2. Wow andy, just reading this testimony made me sick to the stomach knowing that I know where my next meal will be coming from, and knowing a place to stay everynight. But the Lord put us where we are for a reason. So be thankful for your blessings. Coutinie serving the Lords people even when in your hometown.
    -Malik

Leave a comment